Rough Cuts From the Castle - CD

SKU 002 - 190394668365
In stock
Product Details

1. Forever (Featuring Jody Harris on Guitar) 2. Through the Storm 3. Embrace What You Feel 4. Is it You? 5. A Man of Honor 6. Prison of Love 7. Frodo, Fare Thee Well* (w/Ennis Pruitt) 8. Going Somewhere 9. Love Comes to Those Who Believe 10. Wings 11. How About a Fantasy 12. To Lose a Friend 13. Without Your Love 14. Every Time it Rains (For Scotland) 15. Is it You? (Studio)

Liner Notes...Ever since I was a little girl, first watching Errol Flynn in the classic “Robin Hood,” I’ve had a fascination with the chivalrous era, castles, flowing medieval gowns and virtuous swashbuckling Bravehearts! And it just so happened, the film Braveheart, with it’s breathtaking opening scene o’er the bens of Scotland was released on my 33rd birthday! Thanks Mel! Couple that with my great grandfather x6, Magnus Redlon being press ganged away from his beautiful home on the shores of Orkney, and you have an adventuresome saga in the making, one that’s been tugging at my heart for decades. This restlessness beckoned me out upon an amazing journey, which I believe you’ll find reflected in the songs you’re about to venture through.

Not long after 911, I was invited to perform in Germany, at Tannenhof Resort in the Bayerischer Wald. The many castles, lovely villages, mountain hikes, forest walks and friendly people of Bavaria, along with dear friends, The Georgmaier’s made it an enchanting visit that inspired, “A Man of Honor,” “How about a Fantasy?” and “Is it You?”

Meanwhile, “Every Time It Rains,” also featured on “The Plan” was penned in my beloved Scotland. One stormy day in June, curled up in the window seat at Cuil Na Sithe BnB (Gaelic for Corner of Heaven, and you couldn’t have picked a better name for the place!) I watched as a storm made it’s way over the peak of Ben Nevis. The approaching clouds and patter of rain upon the window, hastened by the blustery wind inspired me to put words to melody, reflecting how deeply this glorious country had touched my heart. It was a journey I truly would remember every fiber of, every time it rained! The song has been featured on major network shows like “One Life to Live” and “The Young and the Restless,” and debuted in Scotland at Celtic Connections 2019, but I have to admit, the day my publisher called to say, “Your song’s on a soap opera!” initially, I was thrilled! Wow, my song’s playing on a major network show…then as it sunk in, I thought, “Oh dear, my song’s on a soap opera! I hope it’s a scene my Mom and Dad can watch!” By God’s grace, they have been!

Now then, if the opening track, “Forever” has a distinctly Journey-esque feel, there’s an interesting tale behind it. Early one morning, after waking from a vivid dream of jamming onstage with the band, I dashed to my 1912 Steger and Sons upright grand where Forever spilled out so quickly, I scarce could write it down. But every time I played it, I imagined the extraordinary vocals of Steve Perry singing it, and I’ve endeavored to make that happen! I contacted a friend in Nashville, who once I explained the sound I was going for, got right to work. Jody Harris created that epic guitar intro and solo, as well as those smooth, dreamy backing vocals to my absolute joy! Thanks for an amazing production Jody. It would truly be a dream come true for Steve to record this song, but even nicer, was meeting him at an LA cafe in 2016, thanks to the orchestration of an anonymous tweeter. For a few rare moments, I was able to share how much I admire his talent, gift him with a Samburu bracelet, in San Francisco 49-er colors and let him know I’d been praying for him.

For all you Lord of the Rings Fans, you’ll find “Frodo, Fare Thee Well” written with my friend Ennis Pruitt an intriguing find. Both avid fans of the trilogy, we were inspired to share a bit of LOtR Lore in song, and with a bit of boldness, found our selection being considered for inclusion in “Return of the King!” It was exciting, as Dickey Lee pitched it to the folks at New Line Cinema, but alas, the very talented in-house team of Howard Shore and Annie Lennox produced the winning combination. Even so we received a lovely nod of thanks from Peter Jackson and the Wing Nut team!

Life is truly a journey, and to all my wonderful songwriter and musician friends I’ve met along the way, and had the privilege of creating music with, I’d like to say a humongous, Thank You! In particular to Tosh Ono for the amazing guitar skills, friendship and encouragement! To Susan Raugh & Tony Ward who remind me often that “Not all Angels” come from Heaven, some are right here on Earth! To Brian Finnerty for Bermuda and arranging the Clay House Inn debut. To Susan Duffy for sharing the Kerrville adventure and Kevin Meaney jokes! To Linda Borden for the stories about your Gran, her roadmap and your sweet countenance. Mark Elliott, Tim Johnson, Mickey Justice, Catesby Jones, Gordy Thomas, Mike Daly, Harry Warner, Raggedy Man, Carlos Mogollen, Pam Tillis, Kathy McGovern, Troy McConnel, Vick Willis, Ree Van Vleck, Dickey Lee and the Carroll family for your friendship and making Nashville such a wonderful place to be a songwriter! To Mike Kohler, for recording my very first songs at Trion, you are missed! And especially to John Blanche for the years of your expertise, patience, kindness and taking me to see puppies on the days when it was too hard to get through the songs. You guys are all so very dear and hold an especially treasured place in my heart!

Also, another humongous thank you to Cindy Badell-Slaughter and Barbara Jordan at Heavy Hitters Music! You ladies rock the world and make film and television a much better place because of your music savvy! Thanks so much for letting my tunes get up to bat in your catalogue!

Ah, the human heart is an amazing creation. Within it lies the capacity to ascend the breathtaking heights or plunge the jagged depths of human emotions, driving souls throughout the ages to rapture, to regret, to abide, to endure, to forgive and to simply live. The joy and pain combined make us human, so cling to those innocent, first blooms that whisper, “Oh fragile heart, take courage, be patient and kind, do not envy or boast, be not arrogant, nor rude, and do not insist on your own way. Be not resentful or irritable, or tempted by wrongdoing, instead, rejoice in the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things and endures all things, for Love never ends.”

“Rough Cuts from the Castle” is a collection of heartfelt songs, created over the last decade, to transform an ordinary day, into multi faceted sparkling jewels. May each radiant offering inspire you to great deeds of kindness, chivalrous adventures and a spirit that bids you to fearlessly pursue your dreams!

I wish you Peace, God’s richest Blessings and Wonderful Adventures,
With love from the castle,
Connie (Stroedecke – Blackwood – MacLeod)

Product details

  • Original Release Date: August 28, 2018
  • Release Date: August 28, 2018
  • Label: Connie MacLeod
  • Copyright: ℗© 1996 - 2018 Connie (Blackwood) MacLeod ~ * © 2003 C. MacLeod & Ennis Pruitt
  • Total Length: 55:27
  • Genres:
Save this product for later